Student Chapters – University of Manitoba

Since its commencement, the University of Manitoba (UofM) Student Chapter has been a student group of great excellence. Member involvement plays a major role when planning comprehensive programs for each successive year, and certainly the UofM Student Chapter has displayed great enthusiasm, planning an average of over 50 events per year. The UofM Student Chapter fosters a spirit of professionalism within its members by providing them with opportunities to learn and grow within the field of transportation engineering. Such opportunities include providing students with funded conference opportunities, hosting web seminars and guest speaker presentations, and organizing various tours. In addition to professional development-related activities, the UofM Student Chapter members also perform community service together, such as the Annual Christmas Cheer Board Drive and teaching road safety skills to children. All together, the UofM Student Chapter undergraduate and graduate students, along with their advisory faculty members, form an energetic and enthusiastic group that have continued to pursue their interests collectively within the field of transportation engineering.

General Information

Year Founded: 2003
Membership: App. 40
Elections: Every year
Section: Manitoba
Email: President , Secretary
Latest Annual Report:

Current Executive               

Co-Presidents: Deep Kothari and Sunny Dhillon
Vice-President: Parasdeep Kanda
Treasurer: Michael Olfert
Secretary: Nikki Lewis
Technical Chair: Luke Andreychuk
Community Involvement Chairs: Omar Warsame and Vishvam Thaker
Social Events and Fundraising Co-Chairs: Cassidy Zrobek and Bobby Johal
Chapter Advisor: Dr. Jeannette Montufar, Ph.D., P.Eng., PTOE, FITE