CITE WATT Consulting Group “Transportation in a Sustainable World” Student Award

wattIn the transportation planning and engineering field, we continue to see graduates becoming significant assets to our community in their chosen careers. However, often what is missing with students is a general understanding of other disciplines and how these disciplines are intertwined to make our communities more sustainable.

The purpose of this award is to:

  • encourage students to explore these other disciplines, not to become expert in other fields, but to
  • appreciate the science and human factors and to
  • understand the full knowledge required to work in the transportation planning and engineering field.

The “Transportation in a Sustainable World Student Award” is intended to encourage students to develop their technical writing skills, encourage learning as to how transportation policies and sciences relate to human choices and the physical environment; and to provide a means for CITE to recognize outstanding accomplishments in the transportation and sustainability fields.

This award is adjudicated based on the quality of writing and demonstrated appreciation of inter-disciplinary collaboration in a paper, which must be at least 1,000 words. In addition, to be eligible for this award, candidates must meet the following requirements:

  • be a Canadian Citizen or landed immigrant
  • member of ITE
  • submission of transcripts

WATT Consulting Group, will provide an annual award of $1,000 (CDN). The winner will also receive free registration to the annual conference (in the year of award), recognition at the Annual Awards Luncheon, and the paper will also be published online.

Application deadline is March 1st. New applications will be accepted starting later in 2019.

For further information, contact us.

Past Recipients:
2018 – Joseph Dominicis, McMaster University
2017 – Caleb Olfert, University of Manitoba
2016 – Victor Douglas Ngo
2015 – Bianca Popescu
2014 – Simon Button
2013 – Coady Cameron
2012 – Matthew Mulkern
2011 – Keenan Patmore
2010 – Garreth Rempel