The Canadian Institute of Transportation Engineers (CITE) is excited to announce the 2021 Undergraduate Student Competition based on the Canadian Capacity Guide for Signalized Intersections (CCG).  This year’s competition will be completed using PTV Vistro 2020, which is PTV Group’s latest release of the software package.

The Competition

The competition involves using the CCG and the supporting PTV Vistro 2020 software to analyze the operation of a signalized intersection and identify a cost effective improvement strategy. The exercise can be completed within a few hours, depending on user familiarity with signalized intersection analysis procedures.

All input material (including the software) is provided.

The Canadian Capacity Guide (CCG) has been developed by Canadian transportation professionals as a comprehensive guide to planning, designing and evaluating signalized intersections.  It is a rigorous methodology ideal for training young professionals, and provides transparent reporting for reviewing agencies.  The CCG is recognized as a national reference guide by the Transportation Association of Canada (TAC) and CITE.

PTV Vistro 2020 is the recommended software for implementation of the signalized analysis procedures in the Guide.  PTV Vistro 2020 also contains intersection capacity analysis methods based on the Highway Capacity Manual (HCM) 2000, 2010 and Sixth editions, as well as other analysis methods for roundabouts.

Why Enter this Student Competition

  • Cash prizes – $1,000 for first, $300 for second and $200 for third
  • Recognition in the industry – Transportation consulting firms and public sector agencies will recognize the added value of individuals that can demonstrate knowledge of traffic engineering and related software experience;
  • The top entry will also receive free registration to the CITE 2021 Virtual Conference.

How to Enter the Competition

Contact Sean Nix at to register – and include your name, institution, year of study, and your ITE student chapter advisor’s name and contact email. Sean will provide you with the data that you will need. If you are unsure who your ITE student chapter advisor is, send Sean an email and he will clarify for you.

Completed entries (maximum one per student) should be returned to Sean and your advisor before March 1st. All submissions will be reviewed by a panel of experienced CCG users. 

This competition is generously sponsored by PTV Group, BA Group, and Jim Gough.


Past Recipients:

2020 – Anastasia Soukov, McMaster University
2019 – Joshua Thompson, Ryerson University
2018 – not awarded
2017 – Allister Aresta, McMaster University
2016 – Robert Pajecki, Ryerson University
2015 – Gabriel Wolofsky, University of Toronto
2014 – Chris Chahil, Mohawk College
2013 – Ross Patrick, Mohawk College
2012 – Alan Fournier, University of Calgary